Temptation…?

Starbucks
Found an interesting article regarding Starbucks accepting payment through mobile phones across America. Surely it’s only a matter of time before such technology makes its way across the Atlantic to our shores?

At this thought my first instinct was sheer joy. As a self-confessed Starbucks addict how easy would it be just to whip out my iPhone to pay for my take-out tall Hazelnut Latte? Wow!

Then it hit me, with convenience comes great responsibility. It wouldn’t feel as though as I was handing over any money, so surely I’d get totally carried away. A vision of me being constantly wired as I sup my way through a stream of lattes and frappucino’s clouds my mind.

But all is not lost. The mobile app has to be topped up using a credit card or Paypal. Phew! Paypal drives me nuts and having to keep anything ‘topped up’ turns me off. I previously had a Starbucks Rewards Card which I used for a while (Cardholders receive various offers such as free whip (whipped cream for all those with dirty minds!), an extra shot (of coffee for those with violent tendencies), free Soya milk (that one was handy when I went on my (temporary) health-kick). However, I soon decided I’d rather have £10 in my purse to spend on anything I wanted and do away without the rewards than have £10 reserved solely for coffee.

My bank manager can breathe a sigh of relief. Meanwhile I’m sure the CEO of Starbucks will come up with some equally alluring (and scrumptious way) of enticing me to part with my cash.

One response to “Temptation…?

  1. Pingback: This was the year that… | BABE ON A BUDGET

Leave a Reply

